HAMILTON’S HISTORY PART 2
No. 4 Hamilton Place has a rich history, this month we will be looking at some of the residents of the venue, including The Duke of Wellington!
Towards the end of the 18th Century, by which time Hamilton’s lease had been acquired by others, the houses in Hamilton Street were said to be “in a ruinous condition and intended to be removed.” They were replaced by a row of houses with a view over the park. Plans were then produced to build three new houses on Piccadilly to make a symmetrical group. Those surviving (141-144 Piccadilly) were demolished in the early 1970s, at the same time as 2-3 Hamilton Place, to build the Hotel InterContinental.
The architect Thomas Leverton who also planned Bedford Square was mentioned as surveyor. Documentary evidence shows that Leverton designed 4 Hamilton Place in 1908 for his client, the 2nd Earl of Lucan, who took up the lease in 1810 having been an Irish representative peer in Westminster since 1801. A later resident was the Duke of Wellington, one of the leading military and political figures of the 19th century, who rented the property in 1814 before moving to Apsley House (also known as Number One, London). Later Lord Granville became the tenant in 1822.
Until the end of the 19th century the house was occupied by a succession of bankers, the last of whom was the then Viceroy of India, Lord Northbrook, previously Thomas George Baring.
The last private owner of 4 Hamilton Place was Mr Leopold Albu, the son of Simon Albu and Fanny Sternberg, a German Jewish family originally based at Brandenburg.
In March 1939 the Royal Aeronautical Society moved into 4 Hamilton Place.